Millions of Netflix users will be blocked unless they pay controversial new fee

To make things as fair as possible, the fee only needs to be paid if the account is used for more than two weeks – that means those going on holiday and signing in on another device won’t be hit by the charge.

However, if a family member has access to the account and uses it for more than a fortnight, a fee must be paid or the TV will be blocked from access.

Confirming the changes, Netflix said in a blog post: “Beginning August 22, 2022, when you sign in to Netflix on a TV outside of your home, you will see the option to add the extra home for an additional fee per month.

“If you will only be using this TV for a limited time, you can watch Netflix for up to 2 weeks at no extra charge as long your account has not been previously used in that location. After that time, the TV will be blocked unless you add the extra home.”

There’s currently no word if Netflix plans to roll this extra fee to other areas such as the US and UK but with the streaming firm currently losing a vast number of subscribers, it’s likely that they will be looking for ways to boost their finances.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.